Skip to main content

Opening Plenary Session: "The Era of the Brain"

Monday, September 22, 2014

10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Masur Auditorium, Building 10


  • Catherine Bushnell, Scientific Director, NCCAM
  • Michael Krause, Scientific Director, NIDDK


The opening plenary session will have a variety of presentations this year. We will start the plenary with a welcome by NIH Director Francis Collins and then have the FARE Awards Ceremony and two scientific lectures. The Fellows Award for Research Excellence (FARE) Program is in its 20th year of providing recognition for the outstanding scientific research performed by intramural fellows. There will be a short ceremony to recognize the FARE winners from this year. We then will have two 30-minute lectures by Drs. Antonello Bonci and Mark Hallett about their latest brain research on addiction and movement, respectively.

  • Welcome: Exceptional opportunities in biomedical research - Dr. Francis Collins, Director, NIH
  • FARE award winners recognition - Drs. Lori Conlan, Hien Dang, and Sudhir Rai
  • "Optogenetic approaches to understanding substance use disorders" - Dr. Antonello Bonci, Scientific Director, NIDA
  • "Focal Hand Dystonia: A failure of just one highly skilled movement" - Dr. Mark Hallett, Senior Investigator, NINDS

back to top