Skip to main content

2012 FARE Program and Award Ceremony

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

4:15 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Natcher Conference Center
Ruth L. Kirschstein Auditorium

The Fellows Award for Research Excellence (FARE) Program is in its 15th year of providing recognition for the outstanding scientific research performed by intramural fellows who have less than five years of research experience at NIH. Sponsored by the NIH Office of Intramural Training and Education, this annual competition selects the top 25 percent of abstracts from 56 different study sections to receive a $1,000 travel award. Winners use the travel award to present their research at a scientific meeting during the subsequent fiscal year.

The FARE competition attracted more than 1,000 applicants, representing nearly a third of all eligible graduate students, postdocs and clinical fellows throughout the institutes and centers of the NIH. All submitted abstracts underwent anonymous peer-review and were scored by a panel of judges from the applicant's chosen study section. This year 250 winners were selected to receive travel awards. FARE competition winners will present posters (marked by a blue ribbon) on their research during the NIH Research Festival. The FARE Subcommittee of FelCom thanks all participants and congratulates the winners of FARE 2012.

We encourage all eligible intramural postdoctoral and clinical fellows to apply to the next FARE competition in Spring 2012.

back to top