skip to content
2007 Research Festival Artwork

Home > FARE Award Ceremony

FARE Award Ceremony

Tuesday, September 25
Natcher Auditorium, Building 45
2008 FARE Program and Award Ceremony 4:15 pm – 5:00 pm.

The Fellows Award for Research Excellence (FARE) Program is in its 13th year of providing recognition for the outstanding scientific research performed by intramural postdoctoral and clinical fellows with less than five years total research experience at the NIH. Sponsored by the NIH Fellows Committee (FelCom), NIH Institutes and Centers, the Office of Intramural Training and Education, and the Office of Research on Women’s Health, this annual competition selects the top twenty-five percent of abstracts from fifty different study sections to receive a $1,000 travel award. The first authors of winning abstracts use the travel award to present their research at a scientific meeting during the subsequent fiscal year.

The 2008 FARE Competition attracted over a thousand applicants, representing nearly a third of all eligible postdoctoral and clinical fellows throughout the Institutes and Centers of the NIH. All submitted abstracts underwent anonymous peer-review and were scored by a panel of judges from the applicant’s chosen study section. This year more than 250 winners were selected to receive travel awards. 2008 Fare Competition winners will present posters (marked by a blue ribbon) on their research during the 2007 NIH Research Festival. The FARE Subcommittee of FelCom thanks all participants and congratulates the winners of the 2008 FARE Competition.

We encourage all eligible intramural postdoctoral and clinical fellows to apply to the 2009 FARE Competition in April 2008. For more information, please go to

Back to the top